

Shakespeare Globe Centre New Zealand PO Box 17 215 Wellington 6147, NZ T: +64 4 384 1300/476 8369 F: +64 4 384 1301 www.Shakespeare.org.nz CC23945

Chief Executive SGCNZ Trustee, & Member Shakespeare Globe Council, London Dawn Sanders ONZM QSM M· 027 283 6016 Action-Sanders@xtra.co.nz

Patrons

Chair

Board

Paul Atkins

Neil Strom

Associate:

Neil Constable

Robert Linterman Colin Martin

Prof Evelyn Tribble

Bill Sheat CNZM OBE Vice-Regal Patron His Excellency Lieutenant-General The Right Honourable Janice Campbell QSO Sir Jerry Mateparae GNZM QSO Governor-General of New Zealand

> Dr Ida Gaskin CNZM Raymond Boyce MBE Hon LitD, Arts Icon

SGCNZ UOSWSF 2014 AWARDS

There is no 'winner' - awards are made to celebrate specific areas of ability, skills and excellence.

Outstanding Costume/Design Award donated by Bernina NZ A Midsummer Night's Dream, Hillmorton High School

Outstanding Student-Directed Costume/Design Award donated by Bernina NZ Macbeth, Verdon College

Outstanding Music/Song Award donated by Morrison Music Trust Hamlet, Iona College

Outstanding Student-Directed Music/Song Award donated by Morrison Music Trust Othello, Wesley College

Outstanding Movement/Dance Award donated by Christopher Finlayson Macbeth, Horowhenua College

Outstanding Stage Combat Award donated by Tony Wolf Othello, Motueka High School

Best Recovery Award donated by Trinity College London Macbeth, Horowhenua College

Most Effective Design Award donated by Toi Whakaari: NZ Drama School Richard III, Lindisfarne College

Best Technician Award donated by Toi Whakaari: NZ Drama School Bridie Casey, Hamlet, Iona College

Most Courteous and Cooperative School Erica Bridgman Award donated by SGCNZ Henry VI Part 3, St Cuthbert's College



Shakespeare Globe Centre New Zealand P O Box 17 215 Wellington 6147, NZ T: +64 4 384 1300/476 8369 F: +64 4 384 1301 www.Shakespeare.org.nz CC23945

chief executive Dawn Sanders ONZM QSM M: 027 283 6016 Action-Sanders@xtra.co.nz chair

patrons Bill Sheat CNZM OBE Dr Ida Gaskin CNZM Raymond Boyce MBE Hon LitD

board Paul Atkins Janice Campbell QSO Robert Linterman Colin Martin Prof Evelyn Tribble Neil Constable (Associate)

Very Courteous and Cooperative School Backstage Award donated by Backstage Organisers The Two Noble Kinsmen, Piopio College

Outstanding Volunteer Commitment Patricia Cooke Award donated by SGCNZ Organisers Rupert Oakeley, ,

Most Cooperative School Award donated by SGCNZ Organisers Henry VI Part 3, Twizel Area School

Most Original Choice of Play Award donated by David Lawrence The Two Noble Kinsmen, Piopio College

Outstanding Student-Directed Ensemble Work Award donated by Jan Fraser King Lear, Rangitikei College

Outstanding Student-Directed Ensemble Work Award donated by Jan Fraser Macbeth, Queen Margaret College

Outstanding Student Direction Award donated by [the late] Frona King Jake Danson, King Lear, Nelson College

Outstanding Student Direction Award donated by [the late] Frona King Louis Laws, King Lear, Nelson College

Outstanding Student Direction Award donated by [the late] Frona King Myer Van Gosliga, King Lear, Nelson College

Most Innovative Interpretation [Student-Directed] Award donated by New Zealand Theatre Federation Romeo and Juliet, Whangarei Boys' High School

Most Imaginative and Innovative Production Award donated Dale and Nina Hendry Hamlet, Iona College



Shakespeare Globe Centre New Zealand P O Box 17 215 Wellington 6147, NZ T: +64 4 384 1300/476 8369 F: +64 4 384 1301 www.Shakespeare.org.nz CC23945

chief executive Dawn Sanders ONZM QSM M: 027 283 6016 Action-Sanders@xtra.co.nz

chair

patrons Bill Sheat CNZM OBE Dr Ida Gaskin CNZM Raymond Boyce MBE Hon LitD

board Paul Atkins Janice Campbell QSO Robert Linterman Colin Martin Prof Evelyn Tribble Neil Constable (Associate)

Best Understanding of the Play Cup donated by Wellington Shakespeare Society Richard III, Hillcrest High School

Best Communication with the Audience Award donated by Christopher Finlayson in memory of Peter Martyn Luke Borthwick, Much Ado About Nothing, Queen Margaret College

Outstanding Imagination and Commitment to the Text Award donated by Drama New Zealand Hamlet, ACG Parnell College

Best Understanding of Sound and Silence Award donated by Trinity College London Macbeth, St Andrew's College

Outstanding Delivery of the Text Award donated by Speech Communication Association Calum Hughes, Richard III, Hillcrest High School

Best Use of Space Award donated by Patrick Spottiswoode The Taming of the Shrew, Hutt International Boys' School

Most Elizabethan Production Award donated by Nelson College's 1995 Theatre Class Two Gentlemen of Verona, Garin College

Outstanding Presentation from a History The Holinshed Award Henry VI Part 1, St Andrew's College

Outstanding Presentation of a Comedy Award donated by Russell Armitage Much Ado About Nothing, Queen Margaret College

Outstanding Presentation from a Tragedy Award donated by Russell Armitage Titus Andronicus, Rathkeale/ St Matthew's Senior College

The Two Actors Who Showed the Strongest and Most Truthful Connection Between Them Award donated by Toi Whakaari: NZ Drama School Maya Wyatt, Antony and Cleopatra, Takapuna Grammar School



Shakespeare Globe Centre New Zealand P O Box 17 215 Wellington 6147, NZ T: +64 4 384 1300/476 8369 F: +64 4 384 1301 www.Shakespeare.org.nz CC23945

chief executive Dawn Sanders ONZM QSM M: 027 283 6016 Action-Sanders@xtra.co.nz

chair

patrons Bill Sheat CNZM OBE Dr Ida Gaskin CNZM Raymond Boyce MBE Hon LitD

board Paul Atkins Janice Campbell QSO Robert Linterman Colin Martin Prof Evelyn Tribble Neil Constable (Associate)

The Two Actors Who Showed the Strongest and Most Truthful Connection Between Them Award donated by Toi Whakaari: NZ Drama School

Andy Song, Antony and Cleopatra, Takapuna Grammar School

Best Connection with the Audience Cup donated by [the late] Patrick Smyth A Midsummer Night's Dream, Whangarei Boys' High School

Outstanding Individual Comic Role Award donated by Russell Armitage Tim Atkins, A Midsummer Night's Dream, Whangarei Boys' High School

Outstanding Individual Tragic Role Award donated by Paul Collins Clara van Wel, Macbeth, Queen Margaret College

The Bit Part Player who Best Supports the Others Award in memory of Curly Del'Monte Peter Burman, The Tempest, Tauranga Boys' College

Assessor Award - Gareth Armstrong - New dirty bits in Shakespeare Stan Hallett-Pullen, Romeo and Juliet, Whangarei Boys' High School

Assessor Award - Tama Matheson - 'Shivers down my spine' Loewn Whyman, Much Ado About Nothing, Queen Margaret College

Assessor Award - Kirsty Bruce - 'Being in the Moment' Ella Brown, Hamlet, Iona College

Outstanding Performance in a Supporting Role Award donated by Nanette Wright Alex Lye, Henry VI Part 1, St Andrew's College

Outstanding Performer Award donated by Peter Vere-Jones Maya Wyatt, Antony and Cleopatra, Takapuna Grammar School

Most Promising Actor Award donated by [the late] Sam Wanamaker Bonnie Harrison, The Taming of the Shrew, Marlborough Girls' College

Most Thought-Provoking Performance Award donated by SGCNZ / [the late] Sheilah Winn Timon of Athens, John Paul College